Skip to content

My Chambray Challenge -Fashion Friday

April 13, 2012

Don’t laugh, but chambray is new to me…

I know, it’s been a staple in everyone’s wardrobe for years, but it has alluded me until recently. 

I don’t like to iron, so I have avoided all button down shirts for years.  I realized though, as I was starting to rejuvenate my wardrobe last December, that I can’t do that.  Button down shirts, especially chambray shirts are a true staple in every stylish wardrobe I see.  So, I bought 3.  Old Navy had both light and dark blue and red, so I ordered them and waited not so patiently for them to arrive.

I have worn each one  a couple of times, but I have been a bit repetitive, so I’m giving myself a style challenge. 

Next week I will wear each color of chambray shirt that I own 2 different ways.  That will give me 6 chambray outfits, 4 in blue and 2 in red.  I am looking at this as a pre 30 in 30 challenge challenge.  I plan to blog each one, I would greatly appreciate your feed back as I go along. 

Here are a few of my previous looks, not to be repeated next week  🙂

I’m linking up with Fashion Friday  – Hope to see you back on Monday!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2012 3:33 pm

    Your looks so far have been great!
    I’m looking forward to seeing what you get up to over the next 6 days.
    Cheers,
    Laura

    • April 13, 2012 3:45 pm

      Thanks – I’ve kept it pretty safe – going to try something diffierent I hope… maybe color combos or unexpected layers… and maybe there just is not that much your can do with chambray and my “challenge” will be a dud. At least it has me thinking again 🙂

      • April 13, 2012 3:56 pm

        It’s always good to try something new. Gets the old gray cells firing again! I saw something called the Uniform Project last night. She spent a year wearing the same little black dress every day but styled differently. It was amazing! I’ll be going back to look at it just to admire her creativity!
        Cheers,
        Laura

        • April 13, 2012 3:59 pm

          oh – that soundsd interesting! I’ll have to look for that to 🙂 I might never do laundry again!

          • April 13, 2012 6:50 pm

            Wouldn’t that be grand!
            But I would hope the dress was alundered occaisionally or that she had a really good perfume!
            Cheers,
            Laura

          • April 14, 2012 2:02 pm

            so true! I found the blog – don’t love the dress but the fashion has some fun inspirational moments…

          • April 14, 2012 4:03 pm

            True, I could see why the dress ended up soooo accessorized! But it did make me think about the importance of accessories. I’ll probably have to do a few post just about changing the look of an outfit just with accessories.
            Cheers,
            Laura

  2. April 13, 2012 5:58 pm

    Nicely done! Can’t wait to see what you come up with next week!

  3. April 15, 2012 8:59 pm

    I heart a good chambray shirt!

  4. April 17, 2012 10:22 am

    What is it that makes a button-down shirt a chambray?

    • April 17, 2012 10:35 am

      Erin, actually its the fabric that makes it a chambray- chambray is a thin jean type material. Thanks for visiting ! 🙂

Let me know what you are thinking...